Skip to content

Goals for 2015

January 12, 2015

Hampered by an Anterior Cruciate Ligament surgery in March from skiing, my running was much to my chagrin this year. This was a huge reality check and certainly helped to give me a sense of appreciation and perspective on my running. Nevertheless, I was back to running as soon as the doctors cleared me and overloaded my knee with over enthusiastic runs while filming for Hardrock100. Set back a few more months, I relegated myself to months of bike training and slow steady progress in the winter months.

This hiatus in my ‘racing’, for whatever that is worth, was much needed and amply timed. In April, just a month after my surgery, my wife and I had our second child, a son. This was preceded by the loss of our dear yellow lab and a near catastrophe with her father in the hospital. Still almost a year later, we are recovering from these few obstacles in life that will forever be engrained into our memories.

Now that a year has gone by, I am now finally starting to see a resemblance of my former running self. While I hope to gain the strength and speed back from prior to my surgery, what this hiatus has afforded me is priceless.

During these past few months, I have resolved to make ‘racing’ the de-emphasis. By this I mean, I have sought to find runs that encapsulate the values I want to embrace this year. I apologize for my obvious alliteration… However, I have decided to focus my runs this year on Super Scenic, Family Friendly and People Centered runs. In searching for these sorts of events, I have made the following schedule

January 1 – New Years Revolution Run – 50k – Finished 7th

February 21 – Antelope Canyon 100 miler

April 11 – Zion 100 miler

May 16 – Running With Ed – 38 miles

June 6 – Bryce 100 miler

July – Typical Trip to Hardrock!!!

July – Millcreek 50k

August 1 – Tushar 100 miler

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. liz permalink
    June 16, 2015 12:45 AM

    Is the Millcreek 50k uphill or downhill this time

    • pwstoughton permalink*
      June 16, 2015 12:57 AM

      Hey Liz,

      This is an up year.

Leave a Reply

