Skip to content

Safety First – A Road ID Giveaway!

August 16, 2011

8 Reasons my wife should be concerned about my safety!

1. I meet her after a ‘Survival’ hike went wrong!

2. Almost monthly, I leave her with the following instructions

– I should be home by this time, plus or minus an hour.

– If I am not home by this time, Call 911.

3. On at least one occassion I have been hit by the following – Car, truck, SCHOOL BUS, …

4. My Catch Phrase is “Risk Everything!”

5. She has watched the movie 127 Hours to many times.

6. Many friends of mine have not had as good luck as myself.

7. Once my wife dropped me off, in the middle of ‘nowhere’ Washington. When we looked around we saw numerous ‘no trespassing’ signs, shotgun shells, several pit bulls and just the aura of evil. I told her not to worry, and comforted her by saying I could ride faster then their bullets.

8. Once I did not ride faster then their bullets.

Over the last few years, a growing number of my family and friends have begun to express interest in ensuring, or at least assisting, my safe return. One of the most recent efforts resulted the purchase of a WristID from RoadID.

I have enjoyed mine so much that I have acquired one as a give away. Please post/share a story of a time when your own safety was in jeopardy. The person with the most unique story will win a product from RoadID.

I can’t wait to hear your stories.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2011 4:10 PM

    I don’t have a safety-in-jeopardy story. Mostly because I never run alone and rarely do anything too adventurous. I think though, that if I had a Road ID, then maybe I’d do some adventurous stuff that might lead to a good safety-in-jeopardy story. Then I’d have a safety-in-jeopardy-saved-by-road-ID story.

  2. ChadR permalink
    August 17, 2011 10:28 PM

    Recently, I went on a long solo run in the backcountry of upper City Creek. The note I left on the kitchen table described my route and stated that “I should be home before 11:00” that morning. Later, about 10 miles in and surrounded by dense brush, I found myself sending a text to my wife which read, “Might have to do some bushwhacking in North Fork. Don’t worry, be home ASAP.” Well, after another 10 miles, 2 1/2 hours of difficult route finding, bushwhacking into poison ivy and flirting with dehydration, I finally made it back to my vehicle. I was lucky to have had a cell phone signal that time. Chances are, I’ll find myself deep in the bush without a signal sometime soon (if all goes well). If I wasn’t able to get out on my own, I’m sure a RoadID would be a good thing.

  3. TAsay permalink
    August 25, 2011 1:06 PM

    After being married for a short 13 days a couple of friend and I decided to it was time to go and check out Wolf Mountain because it was a lift access downhill mountain bike park. It was a beautiful sunny day and the trails up top were dusty and just cut in. After 2 runs I decided to meet my friends down at the jump park part of the mountain. There were stunts and jumps that were looking more interesting than eating dust.

    We decided on a line and got the camera ready. I was going to hit a couple of jumps before getting to the wooden step-up bridge that I wanted to try. I hit the first jump and my front end dropped and landed on my head. I was knocked out and had a concussion. I was with my friends so I had help but they had to search for my phone and call my new wife. A RoadID would have made it a little easier for them. I think it also would have helped a little when the EMTs arrived as well. I was still a little loopy when they got there. Some may argue that I still am now.

  4. pwstoughton permalink*
    September 11, 2011 9:59 PM

    Thanks for entering. Chad you will be getting an email with the prize info.
    In the next few weeks, I will be giving away a new Hydrapak E-Lite, and many more products.

Leave a Reply

