Skip to content

Running with Dean!

March 6, 2011

Last year, I was presented with an amazing opportunity. I had entered in a contest with GORE to run one leg of the GORE-TEX TransRockies Run with Dean Karnazes. Amazingly, I was chosen to run Stage 2 of the race with Dean. within 24 hours, I was on a plane to Denver and generously shuttled to Buena Vista to meet up with Dean. Thanks to the organization and kindness of Outside PR, all of this went off without a hitch. In Fact, the team from Outside PR, was able to get me in the car within 10 minutes of finishing the run for a 2+ hour drive to Denver just in time to catch my flight back to Salt Lake City. Within thirty minutes of stepping off the plain I was back to normal life and running an event for my school as the new Vice Principal. WOW!

The stage I would be running was right up my alley, It was short, steep and beautiful. Fortunately for me, Dean had run a 20+mile run the day before. Stage 2 would be from Vicksburg to Twin Lakes. A total of 13.5 miles and 7,680 feet of total elevation change. In the middle of the run was Hope Pass. I was extremely excited, both about the run and my partner for the day. Of the many memorable moments, a few things about Dean will not go forgotten. For all his glory and amazing skill, Dean was an extremely humble and down to earth man. He never allowed my youthful vigor and zeal to diswade him from chattin with me for the few hours we had together. He was candid and genrous. And if you have every had the chance of meeting him in person, he is amazingly lean!! Just look at the photos.

If you have the time, check out what Dean had to say about STAGE TWO.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2011 4:11 PM

    Are you coming back this summer to run the entire week or the Run3? Dean is planning on running again.

    Thanks for the shout out!

    • pwstoughton permalink*
      April 15, 2011 8:05 AM

      My goal is to do the Run3. As an administrator at a school, it is very difficult to miss the first day of school.

    • pwstoughton permalink*
      May 1, 2011 7:22 PM

      Hey Kelly
      I am planning on coming to do the RUN3.

Leave a Reply

