Skip to content

Winter Running Mama

January 15, 2011

Barely breaking twenty degrees several days these past few weeks, and almost consistently not rising above thirty the entire month of January; I have had to become more determined, more thoughtful, and much more intentional on getting outside. Besides the extreme cold temperatures, the Salt Lake inversion has also become a challenge to running in the city. Although, I can’t control the air quality around me, I can control the comfort of my child while I push through my winter workouts. So, I’ve decided if the suns out, GET OUT! Here is what I have found helpful towards keeping us running mommies active during the winter months, and our little ones warm!

Planning ahead

  1. Expect extra time when getting yourself and your baby or toddler ready for a run in the winter. It takes me a good half hour to get out the door. I would expect forty-five minutes to an hour for two kids, and anymore than that, I would highly recommend a sitter!
  2. Gather up clothes, equipment, shoes, jackets, food, etc ahead of time so that way you can just assemble yourselves at the door!
  3. Make sure you have a good running stroller. We love our BOB revolution. It works great in all-weather conditions.
  4. Look at the weather in the morning, and plan your run around the warmest part of the day!
  5. Bring extra clothes, blankets, snacks, etc during your run incase things move slower than expected, or weather changes.

Getting yourself ready

  1. I AWALYS get ready first. That includes, layers, hair, shoes, etc.
  2. I love my Nike Dri Fit running pants, they are perfect for splashing water and snow. I usually always wear two base layers, and if its below twenty degrees, I’ll throw a fleece on top. I have continued to wear my road running shoes, but if there is lots of snow on the ground I am happy to trade for my trail shoes, which keep my toes a lot more dry. Fleece gloves and a head band or hat are a must.

Dressing your little one

  1. Dressing little ones is the fun part. They look a lot cuter than us adults in winter gear. I took some pictures to go along with the details of keeping your  little one warm and dry on a cold winter day.
  2. Start with a base layer onesie followed with warm pants, socks, and fleece, sweater, or sweatshirt. Sometimes, I’ll even have a onesie, shirt, and sweatshirt if it’s really cold. I am a big fan of Ella’s Columbia one piece snowsuit. It actually comes in two parts, an inner fleece lining and an outer water proof layer. They zip together and the hands and feet fold over to replace the need for gloves or shoes! I LOVE it! It also has attached hoods so if it’s not too cold this is all you need. It’s the perfect all in one, easy assembly piece of clothing.
  3. Next put in the binky or give baby their favorite snack or toy for the ride.
  4. Strap baby in the stroller, and (cover with a blanket if extra cold).
  5. I always keep milk in the stroller.
  6. Lastly, BOB makes a running stroller weather cover that not only shields from rain, snow, etc but helps keep heat trapped in. I use this each time we go out in the winter for the mere purpose of keeping Ella warm. It really does work.
  7. When Ella was a baby, I would dress her similarly in base layers and a one piece snow outfit, but I would place her inside a “Bundle Me”. It held her in and was better than a blanket. This item was perfect for the really little ones.

Practical tips

  1. Pick roads that are wide since sidewalks are unreliable for snow clearing.
  2. Learn to gauge the amount of time your child can handle the cold. If you want to do a longer run but know you only have a given amount of time, pick roads with less lights, less traffic, where you can gain more distance without waiting around for rush hour to pass through.
  3. Look for parks or other trails that might be less snow packed or traveled by cars.
  4. Run during nap time if you want to do longer distance.
  5. Look at the weather at the beginning of the week and plan to run on the warmest and (in SLC’s case, the clearest air quality days).
  6. If it’s not working, don’t give up, turn around and try again another day!
  7. Most importantly, make it fun for you and baby.

Post by: Kristin Stoughton

Tiny Snapshots: http://thestoughtons.wordpress.com/

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

